MP3 At 3PM: Chris Pureka

chrispureka3883New England singer/songwriter Chris Pureka creates notoriously heartbreaking music. Just take a listen to the dripping-with-emotion “Hangman” below, which features Pureka’s dynamic, breathy vocals a la Chan Marshall alongside a weeping violin. The track is from Pureka’s third full-length, How I Learned To See In The Dark, which is out April 13 via her own label, Sad Rabbit Music. Pureka will also be touring the U.S. extensively this spring in support of the release. MAGNET is proud to premiere “Hangman” today; download it below.

“Hangman” (download):

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

This entry was posted in FREE MP3s. Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.


  1. Posted March 5, 2010 at 3:46 pm | Permalink

    Love this song!! I Can’t wait for the tour:

  2. victoria
    Posted March 5, 2010 at 3:49 pm | Permalink

    this is so. gorgeous. can’t wait for the sxsw / west coast shows!!!

  3. Posted March 5, 2010 at 4:02 pm | Permalink

    ‘Hangman’ – The production improves what was already a great song, live. Looking forward to the new album and the national tour. If you don’t have ‘Dryland’ and ‘Driving North’ – go to and get them, immediately. Chris is an amazing singer songwriter that I can’t say enough good things about.

  4. Posted March 5, 2010 at 5:35 pm | Permalink

    pureka is the best thing since sliced sandwich meat. its just a matter of time til the rest of the world (like magnet) figures it out. Pureka for ever!

  5. Posted March 5, 2010 at 5:38 pm | Permalink


  6. Posted March 5, 2010 at 5:39 pm | Permalink

    Such great lyrics, you can really feel the passion! great voice, great lyrics, great production = big star! keep it up Chris!

  7. patty
    Posted March 5, 2010 at 5:58 pm | Permalink

    love the song, love chris. cant wait to see her in northampton!

  8. Posted March 5, 2010 at 6:13 pm | Permalink

    love the banjo subtleties and the dueling strings at the end. “something’s gotta give…” indeed.

  9. ERockett
    Posted March 5, 2010 at 6:28 pm | Permalink

    As always Chris Pureka’s voice gives me chills. Her talent is truly amazing and I have a feeling this album will be just like her other work where you can listen to every track over and over and never get tired of it.

    Also if you ever have the chance to see Chris live, DO IT! She put’s on one of the best live shows ever and her voice live will give you chills. She is that amazing.

  10. Jen
    Posted March 5, 2010 at 6:30 pm | Permalink

    amazing! been listening to it on repeat for like an hour. so excited for the new album to come out!

  11. blair
    Posted March 5, 2010 at 7:11 pm | Permalink

    Love it! of course…so looking forward to hearing them all!

  12. Posted March 5, 2010 at 7:19 pm | Permalink

    Just this morning I was jonesing to hear something from the new album. I checked the Myspace page, No joy. Then this afternoon, Ms. Pureka posted a link to this on Facebook. Joy!

    The first time through, first 30 seconds or so, I was skeptical, because I tend to like Chris Pureka better the less produced she is. The closer to her and a guitar alone, the better. But by the end of the track, I had to admit it was good. The second time through, loved it.

    Never seen this site before. Pretty cool. Thanks.

  13. Posted March 5, 2010 at 7:20 pm | Permalink

    If you’re a fan of clever and heart felt lyrics, superior composing and guitar played about as well as it can possibly be, dig into Chris’ back catalog before the new one comes out in April!

  14. andy
    Posted March 5, 2010 at 7:55 pm | Permalink

    OMG yes yes yes yes yes. COME TO LA!

  15. Emily
    Posted March 5, 2010 at 8:08 pm | Permalink

    She needs to play New Orleans!!!

  16. Posted March 5, 2010 at 10:40 pm | Permalink

    Chris is so talented, thanks for giving us a pick into the new album!

  17. Patty
    Posted March 24, 2010 at 8:12 pm | Permalink

    So excited for the new album! Thanks, Chris!

  18. E
    Posted March 25, 2010 at 12:09 pm | Permalink

    LOVE HER. Her voice is so sexy! But she is also incredible!

  19. Rosie
    Posted March 26, 2010 at 9:55 am | Permalink